Registration

Course Registration (register.emerson.edu) will be closed for system maintenance on Saturday, January 28, 2023.

Faculty looking to grant registration permission for a student should view this page.

Late Registration

  • The last day to add or drop a spring Speech@emerson course is Sunday, January 15. See the 2022-2023 Speech@Emerson Academic Calendar for more information.
  • The last day to add a spring MA Marketing (MAM) / DMDA course is Tuesday, January 24, and the last day to drop a course (or add, with permission) is Tuesday, January 31. See the 2022-2023 MAM Academic Calendar for more information. 
  • The last day to add or drop a spring Kasteel Well course is Sunday, January 1. See the Spring 2023 Kasteel Well Academic Calendar for more information.
  • The last day to add or drop a spring Emerson Los Angeles course is Wednesday, January 25. The last day to drop a course (or add, with permission) is Wednesday, February 1.

Spring 2023 Add/Drop Calendar for Boston Courses

The last day to add all other courses and credits, including regular Boston campus courses, for the Spring 2023 semester is Monday, January 30:

EVENT

DATES

Add/Drop January 17 to January 23
Restricted Add/Drop January 24 to January 30
Dropping not allowed; students must withdraw January 30 to April 11

Add/Drop

During the first week of Boston campus classes, you may add and drop courses online. The last day to add a class without instructor permission is Sunday, January 23, at 11:59 p.m. (EST).

Restricted Add/Drop

Starting January 24, you must have instructor permission added to your account to add a class online. You may still drop classes online without permission until Monday, January 30, at 11:59 p.m. (EST).

You do not need permission to drop a course online during the first two weeks of the semester. A course withdrawal is required starting the third week of classes.

Registering After January 30

Course registration additions after January 30, 2023 will be assessed a $50 late registration fee.
If you are already attending classes for the Spring 2023 semester and need to add a course, contact the course instructor for their late registration permission. Once permission is added to your account by a Department Associate (see Department Associates below), you must email registrar [at] emerson.edu or visit the Registrar's Office to finalize your registration. After January 30 you will not be able to add classes at register.emerson.edu, even with permission added to your account.

Online Add Permissions

When registering for a class, did you receive a message about a restriction, prerequisite, or some other permission needed? View this page for more information on specific registration errors.

If you require permission to add a class, you will need it added to your account.

  • Email the appropriate permission granter:
    • If the course is full, email the course professor.
    • If you need to register late, email the course professor.
    • Undergraduate Students: If the course is restricted to specific majors, classes (e.g., Senior only), or you do not meet the course prerequisites, email the course's Department Chair.
    • Graduate Students: If the course is restricted to specific majors, you should discuss your registration with your Graduate Program Director.
    • If you are trying to register for another section of the same course (e.g., multiple Topics courses), email the department associates.
  • If permission is granted, it will be added to your account. You'll receive an email confirming when this is completed.
  • Once you receive the email, go to your registration page (register.emerson.edu) to complete your registration. Your course is NOT automatically added to your schedule!
    • If you are adding a class after January 30, you must email registrar [at] emerson.edu to finalize your registration. 

Department Associates

Los Angeles Courses

Isabel Macomber, ela_academics [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Isabel Macomber"

Business of Creative Enterprises

Hannah McEachern, hannah_mceachern [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Hannah McEachern"

Comedic Arts

Hannah McEachern, hannah_mceachern [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Hannah McEachern"

Communication Disorders

Estelle Ticktin, estelle_ticktin [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Estelle Ticktin"

Communication Studies

Shepard Vargo, shepard_vargo [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Shepard Vargo"

Marlboro Institute for Liberal Arts

Lisa Duffy, lisa_duffy [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Lisa Duffy"

Journalism

Christopher Wilson, christopher_wilson [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Christopher Wilson"

Marketing Communication

Cynthia Ntinunu, cynthia_ntinunu [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Cynthia Ntinunu"

Performing Arts

Sophie Sinclair, sophie_sinclair [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Sophie Sinclair"

Visual & Media Arts

John-Albert Moseley, john_albert_moseley [at] emerson.edutitle="Email John-Albert Moseley"

Writing, Literature & Publishing

LaStarr Fisk, lastarr_fisk [at] emerson.edutitle="Email LaStarr Fisk"

Department Chairs

Communication Disorders

Nydia Bou, nydia_bou [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Nydia Bou"

Communication Studies

Gregory Payne, gregory_payne [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Gregory Payne"

Marlboro Institute for Liberal Arts

Amy Ansell, amy_ansell [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Amy Ansell"

Journalism

Janet Kolodzy, janet_kolodzy [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Janet Kolodzy"

Marketing Communication

Nejem Raheem, nejem_raheem [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Nejem Raheem"

Performing Arts

Amelia Broome, amelia_broome [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Amelia Broome"

Visual & Media Arts

John-Albert Moseley, john_albert_moseley [at] emerson.edutitle="Email John-Albert Moseley"

Writing, Literature & Publishing

Roy Kamada, roy_kamada [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Roy Kamada"