Online Add Permissions

When registering for a class, did you receive a message about a restriction, prerequisite, or some other permission needed? View this page for more information on specific registration errors.

If you require permission to add a class, you will need it added to your account.

  • Email the appropriate permission granter:
    • If the course is full, email the course professor.
    • If you need to register late, email the course professor.
    • Undergraduate Students: If the course is restricted to specific majors, classes (e.g., Senior only), or you do not meet the course prerequisites, email the course's Department Chair.
    • Graduate Students: If the course is restricted to specific majors, you should discuss your registration with your Graduate Program Director.
    • If you are trying to register for another section of the same course (e.g., multiple Topics courses), email the department associates.
  • If permission is granted, it will be added to your account. You'll receive an email confirming when this is completed.
  • Once you receive the email, go to your registration page (register.emerson.edu) to complete your registration. Your course is NOT automatically added to your schedule!
    • If you are adding a class after January 22, you must email registrar [at] emerson.edu to finalize your registration. 

Important Registration Dates

Spring 2024 waitlists are dissolved Wednesday, January 10. Starting Wednesday, January 10, students may petition faculty for permission to over-enroll into classes. 

Late Registration for Special Programs

  • Speech@Emerson: The last day to add or drop a Spring 2024 Speech@Emerson course is Sunday, January 14. See the 2023-2024 Speech@Emerson Academic Calendar for more information.
  • MA in Marketing (MAM): The last day to add a spring MA Marketing (MAM) / DMDA course is Tuesday, January 23, and the last day to drop a course (or add, with permission) is Tuesday, January 30. See the 2023-2024 MAM Academic Calendar for more information. 
  • Kasteel Well: The last day to add or drop a spring Kasteel Well course is Tuesday, January 2. See the Spring 2024 Kasteel Well Academic Calendar for more information.
  • Los Angeles: The last day to add or drop a Spring 2024 Emerson Los Angeles course is Wednesday, January 24. The last day to drop a course (or add, with permission) is Wednesday, January 31. See the Spring 2024 Emerson Los Angeles Academic Calendar for more information.

Late Registration Boston Courses

The last day to add all other courses and credits, including regular Boston campus courses, for the Spring 2024 semester is Monday, January 22:

EVENT DATES
Add/Drop January 16 to January 22
Restricted Add/Drop January 23 to January 29
Dropping not allowed; students must withdraw January 30 to April 9

Add/Drop

During the first week of Boston campus classes, you may add and drop courses online. The last day to add a class without instructor permission is Monday, January 22, at 11:59 p.m. (EST).

Restricted Add/Drop

Starting January 23, you must have instructor permission added to your account to add a class online. You may still drop classes online without permission until Monday, January 29, at 11:59 p.m. (EST).
You do not need permission to drop a course online during the first two weeks of the semester. A course withdrawal is required starting the third week of classes.

Registering After January 29

Course registration additions after January 29, 2024 will be assessed a $50 late registration fee.

If you are already attending classes for the Spring 2024 semester and need to add a course, contact the course instructor for their late registration permission. Once permission is added to your account by a Department Associate (see Department Associates below), you must email registrar [at] emerson.edu (registrar[at]emerson[dot]edu) or visit the Registrar's Office to finalize your registration. After January 30 you will not be able to add classes at register.emerson.edu, even with permission added to your account.

Requesting Permission for a Full Course

After waitlists are dissolved on January 10, if a course is already full, professors may allow additional students into their class at their discretion, provided that the classroom can accommodate the additional seat.

If you need to register for a course that is already full, send the professor an email. If accepted, a Department Associate will add permission to your account. Your course is NOT automatically added to your schedule! You must forward your permission to a Department Associate to proceed with your over-enrollment. See Online Add Permissions, below, for details.

Department Associates

Los Angeles Courses

Isabel Macomber, ela_academics [at] emerson.edu (ela_academics[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Business of Creative Enterprises

Alan Geiss, alan_geiss [at] emerson.edu (alan_geiss[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Comedic Arts

Hannah McEachern, hannah_mceachern [at] emerson.edu (hannah_mceachern[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Communication Disorders

Estelle Ticktin, estelle_ticktin [at] emerson.edu (estelle_ticktin[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Communication Studies

Shepard Vargo, shepard_vargo [at] emerson.edu (shepard_vargo[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Marlboro Institute for Liberal Arts

Michael Gueno, michael_gueno [at] emerson.edu (michael_gueno[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Journalism

Christopher Wilson, christopher_wilson [at] emerson.edu (christopher_wilson[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Marketing Communication

Cynthia Ntinunu, cynthia_ntinunu [at] emerson.edu (cynthia_ntinunu[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Performing Arts

Sophie Sinclair, sophie_sinclair [at] emerson.edu (sophie_sinclair[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Visual & Media Arts

John-Albert Moseley, john_albert_moseley [at] emerson.edu (john_albert_moseley[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Writing, Literature & Publishing

Dylan Hearn, dylan_hearn [at] emerson.edu (dylan_hearn[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Department Chairs

Communication Disorders

Nydia Bou, nydia_bou [at] emerson.edu (nydia_bou[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Communication Studies

Gregory Payne, gregory_payne [at] emerson.edu (gregory_payne[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Marlboro Institute for Liberal Arts

Amy Ansell, amy_ansell [at] emerson.edu (amy_ansell[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Journalism

Lu Ann Reeb, Lu_Ann_Reeb [at] emerson.edu (Lu_Ann_Reeb[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Marketing Communication

Nejem Raheem, nejem_raheem [at] emerson.edu (nejem_raheem[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Performing Arts

Amelia Broome, amelia_broome [at] emerson.edu (amelia_broome[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Visual & Media Arts

Shaun Clarke, shaun_clarke [at] emerson.edu (shaun_clarke[at]emerson[dot]edu)

Writing, Literature & Publishing

Roy Kamada, roy_kamada [at] emerson.edu (roy_kamada[at]emerson[dot]edu)