When registering for a class, did you receive a message about a restriction, prerequisite, or some other permission needed? View this page for more information on specific registration errors.

Faculty looking to grant registration permission for a student should view this page.

Late Registration

 The last day to add all other courses for the Fall 2022 semester is Thursday, September 15.

Fall 2022 Add/Drop Calendar for Boston Courses

Event Dates
Add/Drop September 2 to September 11
Restricted Add/Drop September 12 to September 15
Dropping not allowed; students must withdraw September 16 to November 18

Add/Drop

During the first week of classes, you may add and drop courses online. The last day to add a class without instructor permission is Sunday, September 11, at 11:59 p.m. (EDT).

Restricted Add/Drop

Starting September 12, you must have instructor permission added to your account to add a class online. You may still drop classes online without permission until Thursday, September 15, at 11:59 p.m. (EDT).

You do not need permission to drop a course online during the first two week of the semester. A course withdrawal is required starting the third week of classes.

Online Add Permissions

If you require permission to add a class, you will need it added to your account.

  • Email the appropriate permission granter:
    • If the course is full, email the course professor.
    • If you need to register late, email the course professor.
    • If the course is restricted to specific majors, classes (e.g., Senior only), or you do not meet the course prerequisites, email the course's Department Chair.
    • If you are trying to register for another section of the same course (e.g., multiple Topics courses), email the department associates.
  • If permission is granted, it will be added to your account. You'll receive an email confirming when this is completed.
  • Once you receive the email, go to your Add/Drop Classes page (register.emerson.edu) to complete your registration. Your course is NOT automatically added to your schedule!

For VMA courses with restrictions or prerequisites, contact the VMA associate listed below instead of the Department Chair.

Department Associates

Los Angeles Courses

Isabel Macomber, ela_academics [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Isabel Macomber"

Comedic Arts

John-Albert Moseley, john_albert_moseley [at] emerson.edutitle="Email John-Albert Moseley"

Communication Disorders

Estelle Ticktin, estelle_ticktin [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Estelle Ticktin"

Communication Studies

Shepard Vargo, shepard_vargo [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Shepard Vargo"

Marlboro Institute for Liberal Arts

Lisa Duffy, lisa_duffy [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Lisa Duffy"

Journalism

Christopher Wilson, christopher_wilson [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Christopher Wilson"

Marketing Communication

Cynthia Ntinunu, cynthia_ntinunu [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Cynthia Ntinunu"

Performing Arts

Sophie Sinclair, sophie_sinclair [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Sophie Sinclair"

Visual & Media Arts

John-Albert Moseley, john_albert_moseley [at] emerson.edutitle="Email John-Albert Moseley"

Writing, Literature & Publishing

WLP Program Coordinator, wlp_prog_coordinator [at] emerson.edutitle="Email the WLP Program Coordinator"

Department Chairs

Communication Disorders

Nydia Bou, nydia_bou [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Nydia Bou"

Communication Studies

Gregory Payne, gregory_payne [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Gregory Payne"

Marlboro Institute for Liberal Arts

Amy Ansell, amy_ansell [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Amy Ansell"

Journalism

Janet Kolodzy, janet_kolodzy [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Janet Kolodzy"

Marketing Communication

Nejem Raheem, nejem_raheem [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Nejem Raheem"

Performing Arts

Maureen Shea, maureen_shea [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Maureen Shea"

Visual & Media Arts

John-Albert Moseley, john_albert_moseley [at] emerson.edutitle="Email John-Albert Moseley"

Writing, Literature & Publishing

Roy Kamada, roy_kamada [at] emerson.edutitle="Email Roy Kamada"